Skinhead Poem by Colin Hankey

Back In No Time At All

Doesn’t matter how old I get
The feeling remains the same
As I stand up and step out of the barbers chair
Looking sharp again.
A cheeky look at myself in the mirror,
As I wipe the loose hair from my face and neck
Other hand already reaching for my wallet
To pay the Barbers fee.

Sideburns tidy
Neck still smarting
From the cutthroat razor shave
I feel whole again, redefined
renewed, alive and brave.
The loose change rattles
as the till drawer opens
and the barber names his price
I leave the usual tip
and he gives the usual wave
as I head towards the door.

Out on the pavement I stop and smile
at the Barber Surgeons pole
I’ll be back in no time,
of that you can be sure

Colin Hankey

trimWee boys in Glasgow 1972

One thought on “Skinhead Poem by Colin Hankey

  1. Pingback: Back In No Time At All | Hankey Pankey

Leave a Reply

