Property Developers

This poem could have been written yesterday. Sorry to say unfairness and poverty still run through the marrow of this country. It’s from Attila the Stockbroker’s ‘zine Tirane Thrash, number 2, 1984.

From A British Hobo At Charing Cross

I am the illustrious cardboard
property developer
seeking more shares at the property exchange

I covet the shares in Persil,
Pal, Electrolux, London Rubber
– with News of the World for good measure

I am the daily mirror, my appearance
is grim, obvious
to the traffic that sneers

I am the only ‘free’ unlimited company
shedding filings in the mesh
of England’s social gearbox

I am the nation’s economic guidebook
if she cares to look…at the pictures

C.C. Allen

anarchy

Leave a Reply

